NJ DOL issues FAQs on new earned sick leave law

The New Jersey Earned Sick Leave Law takes effect on October 29, 2018. Public Law 2018, Ch. 10, requires every employer to provide earned sick leave to each employee working in New Jersey. The Department of Labor and Workforce Development has issued Earned Sick Leave FAQs to help employers comply with the new law. New […]

Alaska’s minimum wage will increase to $9.89 Jan. 1

The minimum wage in Alaska will increase from $9.84 per hour to $9.89 per hour on January 1, 2019, according to the Alaska Department of Labor and Workforce Development, Division of Labor Standards and Safety. Pursuant to Alaska Statute 23.10.065, the Alaska minimum wage is to be adjusted annually for inflation using the Consumer Price […]

1.5% trigger surcharge in RUIA tax rate for 2019

The Railroad Retirement Board has determined that there will be a 1.5% surcharge added to the basic Railroad UI Act tax rate for established employers beginning January 1, 2019. There was also a 1.5% surcharge in 2018. The rate for new employers will be the average rate for all employers from 2015 through 2017 (RRB […]

IRS issues 2019 COLAs on dollar limitations on pension plans

The Internal Revenue Service has announced cost-of-living adjustments affecting dollar limitations for pension plans and other retirement-related items for tax year 2019. Many of the pension plan limitations will change for 2019 because the increase in the cost-of-living index met the statutory thresholds that trigger their adjustment. However, other limitations will remain unchanged because the […]

Iowa issues withholding tables for 2019

Iowa has issued new wage-bracket and computer formula withholding tables for wages paid on and after January 1, 2019. The tables are reproduced in this Report at 6248 and 6249. The computer formula is reproduced in this Report Letter on pages 10—12. (Iowa Department of Revenue, Individual Income Tax Withholding Formula, Effective January 1, 2018, […]

Vermont’s minimum wage will increase to $10.78 on Jan. 1

The minimum wage in Vermont will increase from $10.50 per hour to $10.78 per hour effective January 1, 2019. The basic wage for service and tipped employees will increase from $5.25 per hour to $5.39 per hour. The Vermont Wage and Hour Division of the Vermont Department of Labor has updated the Minimum Wage Notice […]

Joint employer, overtime rules top fall agency list

On October 17, the Agency Rule List for Fall 2018 was released, with notable developments at the Department of Labor, the EEOC, and the National Labor Relations Board. Although the NLRB’s proposed joint employer rulemaking was announced previously, the DOL’s proposed rules to define “joint employer” under the FLSA will be new. And the long-awaited […]

Proposed regulations issued on HRAs

The U.S. Treasury (IRS), together with the Department of Labor (EBSA) and the Department of Health and Human Services (CMS) have proposed rules to expand opportunities to access affordable, quality healthcare through changes to regulations under various provisions of the Public Health Service Act (PHS Act), the Employee Retirement Income Security Act (ERISA), and the […]

Reminder: Employers must give time off to vote in some states

The coming midterm elections on November 6 again focuses attention on state laws allowing employees to take time off to vote, with or without pay. Laws governing time off to vote can be found in approximately 30 states. In many states that allow time off to vote, employers are prohibited from making deductions from an […]

Daylight Saving time to end Sunday, November 4

This year, Sunday, November 4 marks the return to standard time, when clocks will be moved back one hour at 2:00 a.m. Shift workers on duty at that time who normally work an eight-hour shift will actually work an extra hour, for a total of nine hours of work on that day. Employees must be […]