Voters in Arkansas will have a chance to determine the state minimum wage in the November 4, 2014, General Election.
If approved by voters, the measure will increase the state’s minimum wage from $6.25 to $7.50 per hour on January 1, 2015, $8.00 per hour January 1, 2016, and $8.50 per hour on January 1, 2017.
According to Arkansas Secretary of State Mark Martin, “An Act to Increase the Arkansas Minimum Wage” has met the signature requirements of Article 5, Section 1 of the Arkansas Constitution. An initiated act needs 62,507 valid signatures to make the ballot. The sponsors turned in a total of 129,989 signatures for verification. As of September 3, the initiated act has at least 70,074 valid signatures, with additional signatures still being verified.
The Secretary of State has certified the proposed initiated act to the County Boards of Election Commissioners. It will be Issue No. 5 on the ballot. (Arkansas Secretary of State Mark Martin, News Release, September 3, 2014, http://www.sos.arkansas.gov/news/Pages/newsDetails.aspx?show=143.)
For more information on this and other topics, consult the Visit our News Library.