California’s minimum wage to increase to $11 and $10.50 per hour

California’s minimum wage will increase on January 1, 2018, to $11 per hour for employers with 26 employees or more and $10.50 for employers with 25 or fewer employees. Currently, the state minimum wage is $10.50 per hour for employers with 26 or more employees and $10 per hour for employers with 25 or fewer employees. State law requires that most California workers be paid the minimum wage. Some cities and counties have a local minimum wage that is higher than the state rate. Governor Brown signed legislation on April 4, 2016, making California the first state in the nation to commit to raising the minimum wage to $15 per hour statewide by 2022 for large businesses, and by 2023 for small businesses. The legislation increases the minimum wage over time, consistent with economic expansion, while providing safety valves to pause wage hikes if negative economic or budgetary conditions emerge. (Department of Industrial Relations, State of California, News Release No. 2017-110, December 4, 2017, http://www.dir.ca.gov/DIRNews/2017/2017-110.pdf; Department of Industrial Relations, Minimum Wage information, https://www.dir.ca.gov/dlse/faq_minimumwage.htm; Ch. 4 (S.B. 3), L. 2016, http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billNavClient.xhtml?bill_id=201520160SB3.)

Visit our News Library to read more news stories.