Colorado to hold hearing on proposed Minimum Wage Order 34

The Colorado minimum wage is scheduled to increase by 90 cents to $10.20 per hour on January 1, 2018. The Department of Labor and Employment, Labor Standards, will hold a hearing November 6 on proposed Colorado Minimum Wage Order 34, which incorporates changes to the state minimum wage order to reflect the new state minimum wage rate, the Colorado Department of Regulatory Agencies (DORA), Office of Policy, Research and Regulatory Reform, has announced.
The revised minimum wage order (7 CCR 1103-1) also reflects an increase in the minimum wage for tipped employees to $7.18 per hour effective January 1, 2018. The state minimum wage under current Colorado Minimum Wage Order Number 33 is $9.30 per hour for non-tipped employees and $6.28 per hour for tipped employees.
Colorado state law gives authority to the Director of the Division of Labor Standards and Statistics to adopt rules and regulations pertaining to state minimum wage rates and workplace conditions. The Director proposes Colorado Minimum Wage Order Number 34 to reflect the new state minimum wage rates for 2018.
The state minimum increase is required by Article XVIII, Section 15 of the Colorado Constitution, which provides that: “Effective January 1, 2017, Colorado’s minimum wage is increased to $9.30 per hour and is increased annually by 0.90 each January 1 until it reaches $12 per hour effective January 2020, and thereafter is adjusted annually for cost of living increases, as measured by the Consumer Price Index used for Colorado. This minimum wage shall be paid to employees who receive the state or federal minimum wage. No more than $3.02 per hour in tip income may be used to offset the minimum wage of employees who regularly receive tips.”
The hearing on Colorado Minimum Wage Order 34 is scheduled for November 6, 2017, at 1:00 p.m., 633 17th Street, 6th floor, Denver, Colorado 80202. A cost-benefit analysis may be requested through DORA, by October 15, 2017, if it is believed that the proposed rule would have a significant negative impact on small business, job creation or economic competitiveness. Comments may also be submitted to the rulemaking agency for consideration during the upcoming rulemaking hearing. (State of Colorado Department of Regulatory Agencies (DORA), Office of Policy, Research and Regulatory Reform, Notice of DLSS Proposed Rules 7 CCR 1103-1, Colorado Minimum Wage Order 34, September 29, 2017, https://www.dora.state.co.us/pls/real/SB121_Web.Show_Rule?p_rule_id=7221

Visit our News Library to read more news stories.