GSA issues 2019 CONUS per diems

The General Services Administration (GSA) has announced its fiscal year (FY) 2019 Continental U.S. (CONUS) per diem reimbursement rates. The GSA rates are often a predictor of the per diem rates set by the IRS. The IRS is expected to release its annual special per diem rates and guidance for taxpayers later in 2018. The CONUS per diem rate is made up of three allowances: the standard lodging allowance; the meals allowance; and the incidental expense allowance.

The standard CONUS per diem rate is $149 ($94 lodging, $55 meals and incidental expenses). In fiscal year (FY) 2019, there are 325 Non-Standard Areas (NSAs) that have per diem rates higher than the standard CONUS rate.

The FY 2019 rates apply to travel on or after October 1, 2018, and through September 30, 2019.

Marietta, GA (Cobb County) is a new NSA location this year. In FY 2019, the following locations that were NSAs (or in an established NSA in the case of individual counties) in FY 2018 will move into the standard CONUS rate category: They include: Shelby County, AL; Little Rock, AR; Kings County, CA; Bond/Calhoun/Clinton/Jersey/Macoupin/Madison/Monroe Counties, IL; Plaquemines/St. Bernard Parishes, LA; Leelanau County, MI Crawford/Franklin/Jefferson/Lincoln/Warren/Washington Counties, MO Butte, MT Glendive/Sidney, MT Williston, ND Sullivan County, NH; Las Cruces, NM; Seneca/Tioga Counties, NY; Huron/Darke Counties, OH; Washington County, RI; Butte/Mead Counties, SD Greene County, VA; Warrenton, VA Franklin/Addison Counties, VT; Wheeling, WV; Uinta County, WY.

SOURCE: Fiscal Year 2019 CONUS Per Diem Reimbursement Rates; FY 2019 Highlights, August 2018.

Visit our News Library to read more news stories.