Hawaii minimum wage will increase to $10.10 by 2018

Hawaii’s minimum wage rate will increase incrementally over the next four years. The tip credit will increase over the next two years. The law increases the state’s minimum wage rate to $7.75 per hour beginning January 1, 2015, $8.50 per hour beginning January 1, 2016, $9.25 per hour beginning January 1, 2017, and $10.10 per hour beginning January 1, 2018. The law also raises the tip credit to 50 cents per hour beginning January 1, 2015 and 75 cents per hour beginning January 1, 2016, as long as the combined amount the employee receives in wages and tips is at least $7 more than the applicable minimum wage beginning January 1, 2015. (S.B. 2609, Laws, approved May 23, 2014, and effective as noted above; State of Hawaii, Office of the Governor, Press Release, May 23, 2014, http://governor.hawaii.gov/blog/governor-signs-bill-to-raise-the-states-minimum-wage/; Act 82 (S.B. 2609), L. 2014, http://www.capitol.hawaii.gov/session2014/bills/SB2609_CD1_.pdf.)

For more information on this and other topics, consult the Visit our News Library.