Minnesota expands storm-related tax relief

The Minnesota Department of Revenue announced in a news release that taxpayers in 16 additional counties, who were affected by the severe weather and flooding, are eligible for tax relief if the recent storms prevented them from filing their Minnesota returns or paying their Minnesota taxes on time. The additional counties where taxpayers are eligible for tax relief are: Anoka, Chippewa, Chisago, Dakota, Hennepin, Itasca, Kandiyohi, Lac Qui Parle, Maiiin, Marshall, Stearns, Wabasha, Washington, Watonwan, Wright, and Yellow Medicine.

As previously reported, the Department will forgive penalties and interest for taxpayers located in affected areas who have Minnesota tax returns or payments due between June 11, 2014, and July 22, 2014. Taxpayers in the following counties are also eligible for tax relief: Beltrami, Blue Earth, Brown, Dodge, Faribault, Freeborn, Goodhue, Grant, Hubbard, Jackson, Lake of the Woods, Le Sueur, Lyon, Koochiching, McLeod, Morrison, Mower, Murray, Nicollet, Nobles, Olmsted, Otter Tail, Pipestone, Ramsey, Redwood, Renville, Rice, Rock, Roseau, Saint Louis, Scott, Sibley, Steele, Todd, and Waseca.

The news release is available on the Department’s website at http://content.govdelivery.com/accounts/MNREV/bulletins/c35b9f. (News Release, Minnesota Department of Revenue, July 10, 2014; Emergency Executive Order 14-12, Minnesota Gov. Mark Dayton, July 9, 2014.)

For more information on this and other topics, consult the Visit our News Library.