The Missouri minimum wage rate will increase to $7.65 per hour effective January 1, 2015. All businesses are required to pay the minimum wage of $7.65 per hour, except retail and service businesses whose annual gross income is less than $500,000. The minimum wage rate is calculated once a year and may increase or decrease based on the cost of living measured by the previous year’s consumer price index. Missouri law does not allow the state’s minimum wage rate to be lower than the federal rate. Compensation for tipped employees must also total at least $7.65 per hour. Employers are required to pay tipped employees at least 50% of the minimum wage ($3.825 per hour), or the amount necessary to bring the employee’s total compensation to a minimum of $7.65 per hour. (Missouri Department of Labor and Industrial Relations News Release, November 7, 2014, http://labor.mo.gov/news/press-releases/2015-missouri-minimum-wage-rate-set; 2015 Missouri Minimum Wage Law Poster (LS-52-2015) – English, http://labor.mo.gov/sites/default/files/pubs_forms/LS-52-AI2015.pdf, and 2015 Missouri Minimum Wage Law Poster (LS-52-S-2015) – Spanish Summary, http://labor.mo.gov/sites/default/files/pubs_forms/LS-52-S-AI2015.pdf.)
For more information on this and other topics, consult the Visit our News Library.