The Missouri Department of Labor and Industrial Relations announced on November 15, 2016, that the minimum wage in Missouri will increase to $7.70 per hour effective January 1, 2017. All businesses are required to pay at minimum, the $7.70 hourly rate, except retail and service businesses whose annual gross sales are less than $500,000.
Per state law, the minimum wage rate is calculated once a year and may increase or decrease based on the cost of living as measured by the previous year’s Consumer Price Index.
Missouri law requires every employer covered by the minimum wage and overtime pay law or regulation to keep an approved summary of the law, and copies or a summary of any applicable wage regulations, posted in a conspicuous and accessible place in or about the premises where any person covered by Missouri’s minimum wage law is employed (Sec. 290.522). The Missouri Department of Labor and Industrial Relations has updated the state minimum wage poster for 2017, which is available in both English https://labor.mo.gov/sites/labor/files/pubs_forms/LS-52-AI-2017.pdf and Spanish https://labor.mo.gov/sites/labor/files/pubs_forms/LS-52-S-AI-2017.pdf. (Missouri Department of Labor and Industrial Relations, Press Release, November 15, 2016, https://labor.mo.gov/news/press-releases/missouri-minimum-wage-rate-set-2017.)
Visit our News Library to read more news stories.