Missouri’s minimum wage will increase to $7.85 on Jan. 1

The minimum wage in Missouri will increase from $7.70 per hour to $7.85 per hour on January 1, 2018.
Employers engaged in retail or service businesses whose annual gross income is less than $500,000 are not subject to pay the state minimum wage. Employers not subject to the minimum wage law can pay employees wages of their choosing; However, if subject to federal wage hour requirements, employers must pay employees at least the federal minimum wage rate of $7.25 per hour.
The Director of the Missouri Department of Labor and Industrial Relations determines the minimum wage to take effect each January 1 based on changes in the cost of living, as measured from July to July (CPI-W), with the amount of the minimum wage increase or decrease rounded to the nearest five cents. (Missouri Department of Labor and Industrial Relations, https://labor.mo.gov/DLS/MinimumWage.)

Visit our News Library to read more news stories.