New Jersey enacts paid sick leave legislation

New Jersey Governor Phil Murphy on May 2 signed into law expansive paid sick leave legislation. New Jersey now joins a select group of states—nine plus the District of Columbia—that have enacted paid sick leave to provide earned compensation for workers who miss work due to illness or needing to take care of a sick loved one.
The legislation, A1827, allows workers to accrue one hour of earned sick leave for every 30 hours worked, up to 40 hours each year. The bill further permits employers to create more generous policies that provide additional leave time.
Employees may use paid sick leave for the following:

  • Diagnosis, treatment, or recovery from a mental or physical illness or injury, or preventive care, for the employee or a family member;
  • Obtaining services if the employee or a family member is a victim of domestic or sexual violence;
  • Circumstances arising from a public health emergency;
  • A school-related meeting or event with regard to the employee’s child. (State of New Jersey, Office of the Governor, May 2, 2018, Press Release.)

Visit our News Library to read more news stories.