Utah has issued a notice reminding employers of the new date for reconciliation forms. Employers must electronically file their Utah annual withholding reconciliations (Form TC-941R) and associated W-2s & 1099Rs by January 31. This means employers must electronically file their 2015 Utah annual withholding reconciliation forms and associated W-2s and 1099Rs by January 31, 2016. Employers may begin filing on January 1, 2016.
Penalties. Employers who do not electronically file by January 31 are subject to the following penalties: (1) Filing 15 days after due date—$30 per W-2 and 1099R (up to $75,000 per year); (2) Filing 31 days after due date—$60 per W-2 and 1099R (up to $200,000 per year); (3) Filing after June 1—$100 per W-2 and 1099R (up to $500,000 per year); and (4) Filing TC-941R after January 31—$50. (Utah State Tax Commission, Notice, New Annual Reconciliation Requirements Employers must file electronically with the Tax Commission by January 31, November 2015.)
Visit our News Library to read more news stories.