Indiana announces changes to local tax rates for October 1

The Indiana Department of Revenue has issued a new departmental notice listing changes in county income tax rates, effective October 1, 2017, and updated guidance on how to compute withholding for state and county personal income tax to reflect the rate changes. The rate has increased for Allen County from 0.0135 to 0.0148, for Clinton County from 0.02 to 0.0225, for Fountain County from 0.0115 to 0.021, for LaGrange County from 0.014 to 0.0165, for Marion County from 0.0202 to 0.0177, for Sullivan County from 0.003 to 0.006, and for Vermillion County from 0.002 to 0.015. The supplemental wage rate remains 3.23%. The notice will be reproduced in the Payroll Management Guide at 6218 in a future release. (Indiana Department of Revenue, Departmental Notice #1, R30/10-17, October 1, 2017.)

Visit our News Library to read more news stories.